Taking that leap

One artisan category I seem to encounter a lot on my TTChatterbox and my Brandom travels are jewellers and while I can’t ever spell that word without checking it, I do know that jewellery making is on the rise here in Trinidad and Tobago. Meet Dixie Ann Walker, the talent behind Beaded Heart TT, a brand that is based on using a variety of beads to create amazing and unique accessories. “Precious, semi-precious, glass, crystals, wooden beads and more, I wore with them all for my brand”.

Dixie Ann, like all other entrepreneurs has a story behind her growing her hobby into the brand it is today. Let’s start with the name itself. Dixie Ann admits that name came from her love for making jewellery. “The name Beaded Heart TT came out of what I actually felt when I created different pieces. I truly felt a joy in my heart. I also noticed the way I would react when I shopped for the beads themselves. They were all so breathtaking. It soon became obvious that beading was part of me”.

IMG_20190103_162651_543

This love of beading ultimately fuelled Dixie Ann to become a full time entrepreneur with her brand. “In the beginning when I started my business I had a full time job. It was easy at first but as time passed and the business grew, it became more challenging. Eventually, I took a leap of faith and left my full time job to tend to my business full time. Best decision ever”. I truly commend Dixie Ann on this leap as I see so many small businesses fail because one person is trying to do it all. Run the business and maintain the stability of a full time job. I always admire those, like me, who took the plunge and bid adieu to full time employment. So was it just a love of beading that inspired it all?

“The inspiration behind Beaded Heart TT centred around the fact that I no longer enjoyed being employed. I always wanted to do something that I could call my own. I literally got up one morning and said I needed an extra source of income, but also knew it had to be something I was good at, and something I would enjoy doing. After a few weeks of soul searching on March 3rd 2018 Beaded Heart TT was born”. We certainly aren’t starved for insight here at The Brandom, are we? Finding that balance between something you’re good at and something you enjoy doing is what is key to being a successful entrepreneur. After a recent scroll through Pinterest after searching the key words “small business quotes”, I was bombarded by sentiments of being successful by doing what you love and that is proof that there is just so much merit in crafting a brand and a business that makes you, its owner, happy first and foremost.

IMG_20180831_094608_355

Dixie Ann mentions a few milestones that she has experienced on her journey so far and I was lucky to have her share them with The Brandom. “Being able to have repeated customers. Being able to touch so many people within a short space of time with my work. Making a decision to leave my job to become a full time small business owner”. Definitely milestones to be proud of, Dixie Ann.

But the journey hasn’t been without its challenges and lessons, as has been the case with every entrepreneur featured here on The Brandom. So of course, I asked Dixie Ann to share her experiences. “It’s important to remember that no matter how many people may be doing the same thing as you, focus on being different. Remember, it’s not what you do is how you do it”. Solid advice there from Dixie Ann. As for those who may be contemplating the shift from a hobby to a small business? Dixie Ann’s advice is clear. “Take that leap of faith. Sometimes the road to success could be a bit difficult but once you believe in yourself and put God first, anything is possible”.

IMG_20190414_142746_702

So while I had Dixie Ann’s attention, I wanted to get some thoughts on brands and brand building. Dixie Ann sees a brand (in the small business sense) as a reflection of its owner. “A brand is you. A brand is your personality, your style and everything that comes from within. A business is simply an establishment that supplies the public. A brand, however, is your identity”. Great way of looking at it, Dixie Ann.

When it comes to the local brand community, Dixie Ann, sees the need for more awareness. “The fact is some people prefer to shop online than to shop local. That needs to change.” And she’s right. While the local artisan and small business community is blossoming, there is still so much work to be done in terms of promoting these local brands to the national community. It’s the reason behind The Brandom, that’s for sure.

Dixie Ann does participate in local markets with Beaded Heart TT. “I am proud to be part of the Sisters Inspiring Sisters Organisation. This organisation hosts a number of pop up shops throughout the year. I also had the opportunity to be part of theBare Foot Market pop up event at One Yoga Studio. Eventually I would like to host my very own very soon”.

Lots to look forward to with Beaded Heart TT! Keep up the good work, Dixie Ann and thank for sharing your story here with us. Until the next brand story …

CONTACT INFORMATION

Facebook: Beaded Heart.tt

Instagram: @beadedheart.tt

Email: beadedheartbyd@hotmail.com

 

Leave a comment